Since 'Apply' is still available while the requests are being processed (sequentially?) it's possible to submit multiple times. For deactivation, this doesn't result in an exception (yay!) but it does end up with a list of processed profiles twice as long as it should be.
Further, since the buttons are still available, I can close the dialog while the request is still being processed. That results in a permanent 'Still Working' notification