When deleting an application branch, it is not removed from the branch menu in the top left (even after refreshing the page). It is still returned in the /api/project_branches/list payload.
However, the branch data is no longer available. So if the user navigates to this branch, she will see an error.
Deleting a branch deletes its data, but not the branch itself, unless recomputed.